lentil soup with caraway

IMG_3592

Last month’s Saveur was full of all sorts of good things, but what did I immediately decide I was going to make first? Any of the glorious maple syrup recipes? The Sicilian fare? The lentil soup.

It’s perhaps also just as telling that I had caraway seeds and coriander seeds to hand, but had to wait until I went and bought a carrot.

 

Lentil Soup with Caraway
(adapted from Saveur)

1-2 tbsp. canola oil
2 medium yellow onions, roughly chopped
1 carrot, roughly chopped
2 tsp. coriander seeds, toasted and finely ground
1 tsp. caraway seeds, toasted and finely ground
2 cloves garlic, crushed
6 cups stock
1.5 cups red lentils, rinsed and drained
salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste

 

1. Heat oil in a good-sized pot. Add onions and carrots and cook, stirring occasionally, until soft, about 10 minutes. Add coriander, caraway, and garlic and cook, stirring often, until fragrant, 1–2 minutes. Add stock and lentils and bring to a boil; reduce heat to medium-low, cover with a lid, and cook, stirring occasionally, until lentils are soft, 15–20 minutes.

2. Using a blender or food processor, purée until smooth. Season with salt and pepper.

IMG_3581

There’s a shallot here, you might notice. I had a few extra and my onions were tiny.

IMG_3583

I toasted the caraway and coriander on the stovetop until they were fragrant, then tossed them into my non-coffee grinder.

IMG_3585 These are the lentils that look pretty dry and then lose their color once cooked. I used these because I had them, but I think next time, I will just go with the regular brown/green ones and just cook everything longer.

IMG_3589 All done but the shouting (or the immersion blender). The original recipe calls for vegetable stock and I used chicken – half bouillon and half rich homemade. The end result was definitely a little meatier than what you would have ended up with just the bouillon or straight veggie stock. I think for warmer weather, I’d go with bouillon or veggie stock.

IMG_3590 This is not a soup one makes for looks or texture. 

The original recipe calls for mint and greek yogurt, which is certainly an option. But I thought an apple (a pinata apple!) was a nice complement – sweet and tart.

Leave a Reply

