chole palak (chick peas and spinach)

IMG_2800

As with everyone, there are days when I get home from work and have zero desire to do any serious cooking, but at the same time I don’t want cereal or an omelet or any of the soups in the freezer. This recipe is a perfect one for those nights.

It comes from Manjula’s Kitchen and I’ll leave you to find the recipe and video there. About the only change I made is the one you can see above, which was to use a can of tomatoes instead of fresh, which I suggest anyway for the dead of winter because (I am told) tomatoes are wooden-tasting right now anyway.

Oh, and I also doubled the spinach, since mine was starting to go a little. I had been saving it for another recipe that had too long of a cooking time for a weeknight and the spinach wasn’t going to last until the weekend.

As a rule, I prefer dried beans to canned, but this recipe is all about the laziness and in highly spiced dishes it’s less of a factor.

IMG_2802

My very, very sad jalapeno plus spices. I was so lazy, I didn’t even use the tiny bowls, which are in the same cabinet as these pyrex ones, but are nested.

IMG_2803

Sad jalapeno well disguised and nicely contrasted.

IMG_2808

Was not kidding about the spinach. The bowl is one of my Fiesta gaucho bowls, 24 ounce capacity, and the spinach is packed and overflowing.

IMG_2810

Halfway.

IMG_2814

Done. I didn’t really mash the chickpeas and, if you watch the video, you’ll see that this is less liquidy because of the extra spinach. But it was tasty and made a few excellent lunches in addition to one fast, satisfying dinner.

 

For the record, this was the spinach dal recipe I had to wait for a weekend for and, well, I have to say that it wasn’t worth the effort. It wasn’t bad, but three hours of cooking should result in something more outstanding. Or a good roast.

IMG_2889

But I do feel obligated that much of last week’s meals involved this:

IMG_2880

One thought on “chole palak (chick peas and spinach)

Leave a Reply

