chocolate malt cake

malt_cake_piece

Filled with glee at my fabulous pint-sized cake pans (quart-sized, if you want to be mathematically accurate), I treated myself to Cake Keeper Cakes: 100 Simple Recipes for Extraordinary Bundt Cakes, Pound Cakes, Snacking Cakes and Other Good-To-The-Last-Crumb Treats. The punchline is that almost none of the recipes involve nine-inch cake pans (for which the six-inch pans are a happy half-substitute). The good news is that a lot of them call for 8” square pans, of which I have two. This is one of those recipes.

Chocolate Malt Cake (adapted from Cake Keeper Cakes)

1/2 cup + 3 tablespoons sugar
1/2 cup malted milk powder *
1 cup unbleached all-purpose flour
6 tablespoons unsweetened Dutch process cocoa powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1.5 teaspoons baking powder
2 large eggs
3/4 cup milk
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 teaspoon chocolate extract **
6 tablespoons butter, melted and cooled

* I suspect she means non-diastatic malt powder, or even Ovaltine/Horlicks, but all I have is diastatic (which has active enzymes; non-diastatic is just for flavor), so that’s what I used. There wasn’t a tremendous malty taste.

** Totally optional, but I think it makes a pretty awesome improvement in most chocolate baked goods.

Preheat the oven to 350F.

Grease and flour an 8” square cake pan (or, better yet, whip out your can of Baker’s Joy). If you’re going the grease-and-flour routine, make sure to tap out the extra flour, preferably over a garbage can.

Combine dry ingredients in your mixing bowl, then add the wet ones. Don’t overmix. The batter will be very thick.

Scrape the batter into the pan and smooth out the top. Bake 35-40 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.

Let the cake cool in the pan 10 minutes and then remove to a rack to let it cool completely.

Will keep for three days – if it lasts that long.

Notes

As you can probably tell from the picture, my cake was a tiny bit underdone, but only a tiny bit.

I also sort of failed to follow directions as written, not noticing the ‘melted and cooled’ part of the sentence until after I’d already committed it to the KitchenAid. I ended up creaming the butter with the sugar and working my way back to the written directions, which is why I expect I got a fudgier texture than was intended. But, judging by the rate at which this disappeared, that was perfectly okay. I will, however, be a good girl and try it as written next time.

The above is the only picture because I didn’t take photos once I realized I was doing it wrong and then, after I got a lovely cake anyway, I forgot to take any photos of the whole thing. And then it rapidly disappeared.

The recipe suggests a couple of kinds of ganache topping, but the cake came out so rich as it was that it would have been too much.

Leave a Reply

