hot lunch

Erm. Still here.

10_thermos

This is my thermos. It’s a 10-ounce Nissan that I got at Zabars but you can get at Amazon and other places for under $20. It’s terribly handy as it fits easily in a brown paper bag and in a backpack (or purse) and provides a hot lunch without breaking the bank or requiring much (any) effort on my part.

The key is leftovers, pre-portioned and frozen.

cc_lunchable

The container up top is my measuring cup, since it holds roughly the same amount as the thermos (the container is 330ml and the thermos is 370ml, so I can overstuff the container a little). I measure, stuff into ziploc baggies, stuff the baggies into a larger freezer baggie, and I’m good to go.

In the morning, I can pull one out, throw it in the microwave, and put up a little extra water to boil when I make coffee (I use a french press) to heat up the thermos, and it’s ready to go by the time I finish my cereal.

cc_frozen

The same veggie chili and rice frozen and ready for the nuker.

lunch_baggie

Since I am eating for one but cooking for a few, I have a decent array of leftovers. Pasta primavera, above.

 

Sometimes, of course, there is no hot lunch. There is peanut butter and jelly.

sandwich_guard

A good use for those magazine subscription cards – sandwich protectors.

Leave a Reply

