chicken stock

rc_oven

After the roasting and the eating comes the making-stuff-with-the-scraps.

rc_dissection

This…

stock_pot

…became this…

stock_reduced

…became this.

stock_strain

I treated myself to a fine mesh strainer a couple of months ago; I make lemon curd enough that it was cheaper than restocking the cheesecloth, which I don’t really use for anything else.

stock_strained

Still warm…

stock_cold

…and cooled off for skimming a day or three later.

stock_skimming

I got better on the back half.

stock_ready

Packed and ready for soup.

… all told, I think this chicken did its duty – at least a half-dozen meals, then stock. Not bad.

Leave a Reply

