Bulgur Pilaf with Dried Apricots

bulgur_finished

I keep mistyping and writing ‘bulgar,’ from which it would be most probably ethically and halachicly wrong to make pilaf.

This is the recipe I used, out of Gourmet‘s December 2007 issue, and it requires only wheat product. Which I acquired not at Fairway or Zabar’s, but instead in the Aisle of Goya at the Otherwise Shady Local Market, right next to the bag of quinoa (which would be a value worth taking advantage of if I consumed it in any quantity). Goya sells “course”, which is #3 on the bulgur scale, I think, and requires some cooking.

Me being me and this being a grain, I did make a single notable change from the recipe as written: I used broth instead of water. Use veggie broth to keep it pareve, but I do think the recipe is improved with the change.

bulgur_mis

Onions, apricots (Turkish, not California, but that’s what I had), bulgur, spices, and the broth lurking in the rear. I was a little generous with the apricots.

bulgur_simmerIt’s like making rice. You’ll note that my spatula has thankfully lost some of its shocking orange tint since its adventures in adobo-tinted soup.

veggiesThe question of what to make with the pilaf was somewhat limited by the fact that I had only what was in the fridge. Which was this.

dinner_pansWhich became this. There are a couple of small boiler potatoes in there, which both dulls the final presentation and is probably unnecessary considering the pilaf, but, hey, I’d just gotten them and was eager to use them.

veggie_dinnerBut everything turned out all right in the end.

One thought on “Bulgur Pilaf with Dried Apricots

  1. Bulgur would have an excellent protein profile EXCEPT for its lack of lysine, one of the essential amino acids. The protein in dark red meat and in cheese has extra lysine so they would make good mates for bulgur. My sources don’t list the protein profile of Bulgar, but I think that would do as well. Also, most modern corn has much more lysine than is needed for the tiny amount of protein in corn, ditto mushrooms making them a good veg match.

    I suppose Bulgars are mostly dark meat. But corn or mushrooms or cheese are easier to acquire in cookable servings

Leave a Reply

